2011 Young Life 5k [Nascar track]

13 Mar

This race was two laps around the Charlotte Motor Speedway. I wasn’t planning on doing another 5k anytime soon, but this sounded like such a neat venue for a race. Unfortunately, the result was a disappointing PR. Or is that an oxymoron? My official chip time was 26 minutes even, which is 10 seconds faster than my prior 5k. My race strategy going into this: I looked at my previous 5k splits (8:04, 9:09, 8:03) which were on rolling hills with a nearly exclusive climb for the second mile and figured I could get 8:00/mile easy on this course. Possibly even 7:45/mile. So prior to the race, I really thought I had 25 in me, but this was just not my day.

At the start line I had the worst cottonmouth, even after drinking a bottle of water this morning. I had to stop at all four water stops. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Three hours of sleep last night, and not too much the few days before. Plus my diet for the past week has consisted of crackers, chips, and chocolate. I was feeling a little off this morning, but I didn’t know how or even if that was going to affect me, so I stuck with the original strategy. In hindsight, I definitely went out too fast.

Splits: 7:52, 8:34, 8:38 and 7:16 pace for the last .1. During the first half of the first mile I was feeling OK and, surprisingly, hit 7:15 or so for the first .5 but then I hit a wall at about .75 and just kept getting slower and slower. I felt like I was running in slow motion on sand. The larger-than-life course designed for 200 mph contributed to the quick start at the beginning and the slow feeling at the end. As I looked down at my watch and saw my mile 2 and mile 3 lap paces come in at ~8:40, all I could think was that I ran a tempo faster than this last week! WTF. So frustrating!

Didn’t think it was possible to hit a wall or start out too fast in a 5k. Apparently it is. I’m done with 5k’s for a while, but I’ll get that 25 next time.

Leave a Reply

